The Professional Driver Education Association

As a national advocate for quality traffic safety education, ADTSEA is elevating the driver education standard and providing resources to support driving schools across the nation.


ADTSEA hosts conferences, develops drivers education materials, issues credentials to a driver ed instructors, and provides consultative services for driving schools. In 1970, ADTSEA took over the management of the National Student Safety Program (NSSP) from the National Education Associations Safety Commission (which was disbanded at that time) and has maintained this program ever since.

With over 1,000 professional and corporate members, the association provides its members with a national office which represents the interests of members by keeping track of legislation on safety matters and lobbying for legislation to support driver and safety education.

Members of the association include:

  • State Supervisors of Safety Education
  • University Professors
  • Elementary and Secondary School Teachers
  • Vocational Rehabilitation Specialists
  • Commercial Driving School Teachers
  • Police Traffic Safety Personnel
  • Corporate Representatives

Constitution Bylaws Handbook Join Today


Brett Robinson
Executive Director

Leslie Robinson
Senior Director Management Services

Christie Falgione
Senior Director Program Services

Mark Ray
IT Manager

Tracy Lee
Project Manager

Tim Beckham
Project Manager

Contact Us


Executive Committee

William Warner

William Van Tassel, Ph.D.
Past President

Joseph Barch
President Elect 2020

Gary Scott

Robin Bordner
Board Representative

Jennifer Brown
NSSP Liaison

David Reich
Corporate Representative

Maria Herbert
Corporate Representative

Board of Directors

Gabriella Netsch
Term: 2019-2022
Northeast Region

Rod Hull
Term: 2020-2023
Northeast Region

Paul McNamara
Term: 2021-2024
Northeast Region

Robin Bordner
Term: 2019-2022
Central Region

Carol Hoorman
Term: 2020-2023
Central Region

Jennifer Sletten
Term: 2020-2023
Central Region

Gary Roylance
Term: 2019-2022
West Region

Gerald Apple
Term: 2020-2023
West Region

Brenda Carvalho
Term: 2019-2022
West Region

Greg Mangan
Term: 2019-2022
Southeast Region

Michael Jones, Sr.
Term: 2020-2023
Southeast Region

Robert Suggs
Term: 2021-2024
Southeast Region

Division Chairs

Karl Logan

Joe Barch
Bishop Forum

Harold Fleming

Allyn Workman
Education & Training

William Van Tassel, Ph.D.
Program Chair

Emergency Response Action Committee


State Affiliates: Northeast Region

Connecticut Driving School Professionals
68 Hartford Tpke
Tolland, CT 06084
Contact: Cici Petri

New York State Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association (NYSDTSEA)
PO Box 2385
Binghamton, NY 13902
Visit Website
Contact: Jeff Baier

Vermont Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association (VDTSEA)
119 Stevensville Rd
Underhill, VT 05489
Visit Website
Contact: Barbara Brody

West Virginia Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association (WVDTSEA)
515 Johnson Ave
Bridgeport, WV 26330
Contact: Melissa Kaiser

NHDETA New Hampshire Driver Education Teachers Association
Contact: Marilyn Costa

State Affiliates: Southeast Region

North Carolina Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association (NCDTSEA)
9015 Pleasant Ridge Rd
Charlotte, NC 28215
Visit Website
Contact: Connie Sessoms

South Carolina Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association (SCDTSEA)
PO Box 203
Due West, SC 29639
Visit Website
Contact: Joe Sabbadino

Virginia Driver Education & Traffic Safety DETS (VDETS)
PO Box 100
Studley, VA 23162
Visit Website
Contact: Harriet Sweet

State Affiliates: Central Region

Illinois High School & College Driver Education Association (IHSCDEA)
721 Penn Blvd
Lindenhurst, IL 60046
Visit Website
Contact: Jennifer Brown

Iowa Department of Transportation
6310 SE Convenience Blvd
Ankeny, IA 50023
Visit Website
Contact: Steven Stonehocker

Iowa Association of Safety Education
301 West North Street
Richland, IA 52585
Contact: Andy Nelson

Missouri Driver Safety Education Association (MODSEA)
9831 Southwick Dr
St. Louis, MO 63128
Visit Website
Contact: Carol Hoorman

Michigan Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association (MDTSEA)
PO Box 20611
Kalamazoo, MI 49019
Visit Website
Contact: Christine Adams

Minnesota Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association (MDTSEA)
12 S 66th Ave W
Duluth, MN 55807
Visit Website
Contact: Joseph Christensen

Kansas Driver Safety Education Association (KDSEA)
1617 E Sheridan Bridge Ln
Olathe, KS 66062
Contact: Gary Scott

North Dakota Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association (NDDTSEA)
Po Box 10485
Fargo, ND 58106
Visit Website
Contact: Darin Bardal

South Dakota Driver Education Association
2601 Brynwood Dr
Rapid City, SD 57702
Visit Website
Contact: Christopher Grant

Wisconsin Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association (WDTSEA)
W296S7816 Crossgate Dr.
Mukwonago, WI 53149
Visit Website
Contact: Kathy Roe

State Affiliates: West Region

California Association for Safety Education (CASE)
6820 Briarwood Dr
Carlsbad, CA 92011
Visit Website
Contact: Barry Schwartz

Idaho Driver Education
650 W State St
Boise, ID 83702
Visit Website
Contact: Emily Kormylo

Montana Traffic Education Association (MTEA)
PO Box 637
Conrad, MT 59425
Visit Website
Contact: Jim Carroll

Oregon Driver Training Institute
1180 Garfield St
Eugene, OR 97402
Visit Website
Contact: Cheri Kimball

Utah Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association (UDTSEA)
250 E 500 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Visit Website
Contact: Troy Nordick

Washington Traffic Safety Education Association (WTSEA)
7728 104th Dr NE
Lake Stevens, WA 98258
Visit Website