NSSP Awards

Awards are given out each year at the NSSP Teen Leadership Conference.

2023 Recipients

The 2023 NSSP Teen Leadership Conference "Lead with Purpose, Serve with Confidence, and Inspire to Impact Lives" was attended by 17 students and 7 advisors from Aiea High School, Moanalua High School, and Hilo High School in Hawaii and Gillespie High School in Illinois. They raised $1,834 for the Nickels for Nicole fundraiser.

Gold Level Groups of the Year:
Gillespie High School MPACT'D
Moanalua High School
Aiea High School

Silver Level Groups of the Year:
Hilo High School

National Students of the Year:
Laikuwai Yamanoha, Hilo High School
Traegen Madeline, Gillespie High School

Advisor of the Year:
Jennifer Brown, Gillespie High School

Project of the year:
NRSF Speak Up Video - Kenedy Helmkamp Gillespie High School

Gold Level Projects:
Gillespie High School
Moanalua High School

Silver Level Projects:
Hilo High School
Aiea High School

Best in T-Shirt Design:
1st: Moanalua High School
2nd: Gillespie High School

NSSP Awards

Need More Info?

Jennifer Brown
c/o Gillespie High School
612 Broadway, Gillespie IL
Phone: 217-839-2114 or 217-710-4981

Awards Criteria

The awards committee is composed of ADTSEA members. They will serve as judges and reviews each nominee for award categories 1, 2, and 4. All judges will review award category 3 nominees.

View Complete Criteria Details + Submission Form

National Youth Safety School/Club/Group Award

Awards recognize the combined group elements and activities that support a broad, sustained and successful year-long youth safety group. Judging is based on the quality and quantity of projects completed, variety of community involvement, and student participation.

  • Virtual Presentation (Powerpoint, Google Slide, etc.)
  • Scrapbook/Picture Album (Optional)
  • Tri-Fold Board (optional)
  • Banners/Posters/Promotional Materials Used for Event(s) (optional)

National Community Safety Award (Individual or Group)

Awards recognize a community safety project, event or activity that supports the NSSP vision and portrays a positive role model for the community. Judging is based on the creativity, orginality, planning, implementation, follow-up, and target audience involvement.

  • Virtual Presentation (Powerpoint, Google Slide, etc.)
  • Scrapbook/Picture Album (Optional)
  • Tri-Fold Board (optional)
  • Banners/Posters/Promotional Materials Used for Event(s) (optional)

National Outstanding Individual Student and Advisor of the Year

Awards recognize individuals who have been influential and have contributed substantially to the NSSP vision and safety mission throughout the year. Students must show school and community involvement, leadership, dedication, reliability, and be in good standing (drug-free, uses safety belt, and no motor vehicle violations). Adivsors must show facilitation of student empowerment, reliability, commitment, and the ability to motivate. Nominees must submit a nomination form and at least three letters of recommendation that include a description of how the nominee demonstrated the criteria for the respective category.

Best T-Shirt Design

Awards recognize the marketing efforts of teens in promoting NSSP's mission with a t-shirt desigin. Judging is based on creativity, orginality, easy identification of the school/club/group, relevance of the safety message, and overall appeal.

Submitting Nominations

Each school group submit one nominee per award category. Groups may submit up to five community safety projects per school. Each nominee's documentation evidence must have the official NSSP nomination form attached. Nominations should be submitted to Mrs. Jennifer Brown at Mrsbrown2141998@gmail.com by July 24. You are able to submit entries at registration.