Latest Driver Ed & ADTSEA News

Check out the latest news and driver education resources from ADTSEA, your source for the latest research and happenings for driver education instructors nationwide.

Archived News

Read Our Latest Newsletter

FMCSA Our Roads Our Safety Week May 5-11, 2024

Few Small SUVs Excel in New IIHS Front Crash Prevention Test

NSSP Call for Papers

2024 Presidential Candidate Nominee Campaign Information

2024 ADTSEA Elections - Biographies of Candidates

KDSEA Conference Workshop and Regional Meeting March 7, 2024

March Virtual Workshop "Teaching strategies for student drivers with hidden disabilities"

NRSF Drive2Life PSA Contest

How Michelin's Airless Tires Are Changing the Game

January Virtual Workshop Vehicle Technology Update: Applying Customer Preferences and Actual Performance in Training

2024 Drive2Life PSA Contest to empower passengers to SPEAK UP for Safe Driving

GHSA, GM Expand Efforts to End Distracted Driving

Young Drivers and Traffic Fatalities: 20 Years of Progress on the Road to Zero

Congratulations Joe Barch! 2023 Fletcher Brush Educational Outreach Award Recipient

Young Driver Fatal Crashes Fall 38% Since 2002

ADTSEA October Virtual Workshop Using Pre-Planned Routes for Behind-the-Wheel Training

"Yellow Brick Road to Safety" Wichita, Kansas 2023 ADTSEA Conference July 16-19, 2023

Letter from the current President

Past-President's Notes

Congratulations to the 2023 Kaywood Award Winner William Van Tassel, Ph.D.

Congratulations to the 2023 Teacher Excellence Award winners Sandra Dunbar, North Carolina and Gary Scott, Kansas

2023 ADTSEA Election Results

Job Opportunity with National Safety Council - Part-Time Instructors - Defensive Driving Course (DDC)

ADTSEA May Virtual Workshop Command and Control and Driver Evaluation for BTW

ADTSEA April Virtual Workshop The Safe System Approach: What it is and How Driver Education is Integrated Throughout the Model

Safe System Approach - Zero is our goal. A Safe System is how we will get there.

ADTSEA March Virtual Workshop Technology to Enhance Your Classroom Sessions, Conducted by Molly Kleiber

2023 ADTSEA Elections - Watch your email for link to vote!

AAMVA's What to Do and Expect When Pulled Over by Police Video

Message from the ADTSEA President, Joe Barch 2022-2023

Congratulations to the 2022 Kaywood Award and Teacher Excellence Award Recipients!

Driver's Ed Teacher Helps Disabled Woman Drive for First Time on 64th Birthday!

COVID-19 Publications

State Health Departments Links

Professional Development Recordings Available on the ANSTSE website

ANSTSE Virtual Training Tutorial for Driver Education

Distance and eLearning Options 3-27-2020

ADTSEA Memo on use of ADTSEA and AAA Curricula 3-26-2020

Most Americas Won’t Ask for Help if Their Car Breaks Down, But Drivers Would Stop to Help Others

IIHS in the Classroom

FMCSA Launches New Public Service Announcements

Congratulations to the 2022 Kaywood Award and Teacher Excellence Award Recipients!

Richard Kaywood Memorial Award

Beginning in 1985, an award is presented at the annual ADTSEA conference to an individual for outstanding contributions to traffic safety. The award was established in memory of Dr. Richard Kaywood who served the Association and traffic safety education for many years. This award is sponsored cooperatively with AAA National Office who presents the recipient with an honorarium of $500. The 2022 recipient of the award is Robin Bordner, owner of Michigan Traffic Safety. Robin has been an active member of ADTSEA for over 30 years. She is a past ADTSEA board member, representing the Central Region, and has served as Chair of ADTSEA's Higher Education Division for 10 years. She is the first-ever recipient of ADTSEA's Teacher Excellence Award in 1999. Congratulations Robin!


Teacher Excellence Award

ADTSEA's Teacher Excellence Award honors outstanding driver and traffic safety educators. The Teacher Excellence Award is sponsored by The National Road Safety Foundation (NRSF), a strong supporter of driver education for more than 60 years and is in honor of Dr. Francis Kenel, a long time member of ADTSEA. The 2022 recipients of the Teacher Excellence Award are Thomas Iffrig, MO; Richard Kearney, VT; JoEllen Suter, VA; Jennifer Sletten, MN; Alex Hanson, WA. For more information on the recipients click here. Congratulations to the recipients! 

Teacher Excellence Award